You are here

Court Holidays

Court Holidays Observed

2022

Monday, January 17, 2022

Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr.

Monday, February 21, 2022**

Washington’s Birthday

Monday, May 30, 2022

Memorial Day

Monday, June 20, 2022

Juneteenth National Independence Day

Monday, July 4, 2022

Independence Day

Monday, September 5, 2022

Labor Day

Monday, October 10, 2022

Columbus Day

Friday, November 11, 2022

Veterans Day

Thursday, November 24, 2022

Thanksgiving Day

Monday, December 26, 2022***

Christmas Day

In the United States, there are ten (10) federal holidays set by law (5 U.S.C. § 6103). Under current definitions, four (4) are set by date. If any of these falls on a Saturday, then Friday (i.e., the day before) may be observed as a federal holiday. Similarly, if one falls on a Sunday, then Monday (i.e., the day after) may be observed as a federal holiday.

*****December 25, 2021 (the legal public holiday for Christmas Day), falls on a Saturday. For most Federal employees, Friday, December 24, will be treated as a holiday

*January 1, 2022 (the legal public holiday for New Year's Day), falls on a Saturday. For most Federal employees, Friday, December 31, 2021 will be treated as a holiday. (See section 3(a) of Executive order 11582, February 11, 1971.)

**This holiday is designated as "Washington’s Birthday" in section 6103(a) of title 5 of the United States Code, which is the law that specifies holidays for Federal employees. Though other institutions such as state and local governments and private businesses may use other names, it is our policy to always refer to holidays by the names designated in the law.

***December 25, 2022 (the legal public holiday for Christmas Day), falls on a Sunday. For most Federal employees, Monday, December 26, will be treated as a holiday. (See section 3(a) of Executive order 11582, February 11, 1971.)