You are here

Court Holidays

Court Holidays Observed

2022

Monday, December 26, 2022

Christmas Day

Court Holidays Observed

2023

Monday, January 02, 2023 *
 
New Year’s Day

Monday, January 16, 2023

Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr.

Monday, February 20, 2023**

Washington’s Birthday

Monday, May 29, 2023

Memorial Day

Monday, June 19, 2023

Juneteenth National Independence Day

Tuesday, July 4, 2023

Independence Day

Monday, September 4, 2023

Labor Day

Monday, October 09, 2023

Columbus Day

Friday, November 10, 2023*

Veterans Day

Thursday, November 23, 2023

Thanksgiving Day

Monday, December 25, 2023
 
Christmas Day

In the United States, there are ten (10) federal holidays set by law (5 U.S.C. § 6103). Under current definitions, four (4) are set by date. If any of these falls on a Saturday, then Friday (i.e., the day before) may be observed as a federal holiday. Similarly, if one falls on a Sunday, then Monday (i.e., the day after) may be observed as a federal holiday.

*If a holiday falls on a Saturday, for most Federal employees, the preceding Friday will be treated as a holiday for pay and leave purposes. (See 5 U.S.C. 6103(b).) If a holiday falls on a Sunday, for most Federal employees, the following Monday will be treated as a holiday for pay and leave purposes. (See Section 3(a) of Executive Order 11582, February 11, 1971.)

**This holiday is designated as "Washington’s Birthday" in section 6103(a) of title 5 of the United States Code, which is the law that specifies holidays for Federal employees. Though other institutions such as state and local governments and private businesses may use other names, it is our policy to always refer to holidays by the names designated in the law.